Home > American Pulse, Economy > Raising Children in a Weak Economy – Part 2

Raising Children in a Weak Economy – Part 2

Would I rather have more “money” to spend on my children or more “time” to spend with my children?  “Time” wins time and again! 

Most Parents (68.4%) agree with me and would choose time over money. When you factor in work, fewer parents (43.8%) would give up work to have that time with their children, likely a sign of our dismal economy–parents know they NEED to work to feed and clothe their children!

See the full report here: http://tinyurl.com/ParentsAug11

Money buys a lot of things in this world but…it doesn’t buy your children’s love.  My kids are young and money really means nothing to them at this point in their lives like it does to us parents.  Sure I could buy my son a cool new bike that he would like and yes, he would play with.  Although, we could take the box that bike came in and have more fun spending time together playing in the box!  I could buy him a brand new ball to play with by himself but, we would have more fun playing with the old deflated one when Mommy has time. 

If I had more “money” I could buy my baby girl a swing with all the bells and whistles…but, having “time” to rock her in my arms would mean more to both of us.  Money, money, money…seems like that is what life is all about sometimes! 

Maybe if we take a little less “time” focusing on “money” we will have more “time” with our children. 

What do you think? Time or money? Or do you have a creative solution for both??

Categories: American Pulse, Economy
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

